'Timberline Version Changed' appears when anterraDataCenter opens

'Timberline Version Changed' appears when anterraDataCenter opens

Background

When anterraDataCenter opens, a dialog box with the title "Timberline Version Changed" appears
Each time anterraDataCenter opens, a message appears that has the following text in it: "Timberline version has recently been updated. SQL databases need to be updated to match the updated Timberline structure. If resolved then click Yes to hide the message".


Explanation

The purpose of this dialog is to alert you when anterraDataCenter detects that there has been an upgrade applied to your version of Sage Timberline Office. While anterraDataCenter will automatically add any new or updated field changes to each table during the update process, it will not delete any fields that have been removed or changed. This could lead to a situation where the SQL tables have fields that do not exist in Sage.

Resolution

Anterra recommends that you perform the following:
  1. If the Sage upgrade is a minor point or year-end upgrade (for example, 18.4 to 18.5), you do not need to do anything as the schema changes are normally very minor. Go ahead and click the 'Yes' button so that this dialog box does not appear again until Sage is upgraded once more.
  2. If the Sage upgrade is a major point (example 17.x to 18.x), you should drop all tables in the SQL Server database. Steps to perform dropping the SQL tables are listed in the article Sage 300 CRE Upgrade guide, Once tables have been dropped, run the update for anterraDataCenter either overnight or by manually running the scheduled task, and tables will be recreated and populated using the new schema. Anterra will automatically recreate all active tables during the update process.